About us

The Heart of Duns logo smallA Heart for Duns is a community group of volunteers which was formed to maintain and develop the vibrancy that exists in our town. As a key part of our work we now own and manage the Volunteer Hall, and we are reshaping the facilities that it offers to best serve the needs and wishes of our community. We aim to ensure that the hall is used regularly, so generating enough income to secure its future.

A Heart for Duns became a development trust in May 2017 and is a full member of the Development Trusts Association Scotland, the community-led regeneration network.

You can find out more in our Constitution (PDF, 808 KB) and our Annual Report 2019 (PDF 1.3 MB), Annual Report 2018 (PDF 1 MB), Annual Report 2017 (PDF, 2 MB) and Annual Report 2016 (PDF, 1 MB). See also Origin and ownership of the Hall.

There’s also a YouTube video which pays tribute to some of the volunteers who are contributing to the success of A Heart for Duns.

We hope that you will support our efforts and join us at some of the events held at the Volunteer Hall. If you would like to run a regular event there, such as a film society, quiz club or exercise class, please contact us with your ideas. Our Development Manager is Lindsay Wood: manager@aheartforduns.org

A Heart for Duns Trustees
Derek Janes (Convenor)
Andrew Lester (Vice Convenor)
Genny Dixon (Treasurer)
Eloner Crawford (Secretary)
Margaret Cameron
Sandy Donaldson
Jim McDevitt
Anne McNeill
Carolyn Poulter
Stuart Renton
Alexandra Wood


Jim McDevitt, Emma McDevitt, Lindsay Wood

Business and Finance
Genny Dixon, Derek Janes, Jim McDevitt, Ronnie Nicol, Liz Brown, Lindsay Wood

Sandy Donaldson, Linda Gray, Lindsay Wood

Derek Janes, Andrew Lester, Anne McNeill, Lindsay Wood

Margaret Cameron, Carolyn Poulter, Liz Brown, Emma McDevitt, Lindsay Wood

Andrew Lester, Liz Brown, Lindsay Wood

A Heart for Duns is a Scottish Charitable Incorporated Organisation SC045056